Audio Assignment: DS106 Radio Bumper

Audio Assignment: DS106 Radio Bumper

So this Assignment was really cool. We got to create promo Bumbers for DS106 Radio. I really enjoyed this assignment.

I instantly knew what music I wanted. Things They Do, By The Roots.This was a song from my childhood that inspired me to start writing music and prose myself. A decision that has brought me many great things in my life.

The idea of DS106 made me want to go inspirational, considering that’s what the class is all about. I figured whats more inspirational than Dr. Martin Luther King‘s, I Have A Dream speech. Though the whole speech is iconic I felt the first statement from Dr.King said it all.

My classmate Sean, pulled a good quote from the movie, Coach Carter, starring Samuel Jackson and we topped it off with a little Rocky. Inspiration for all Generations.

I did the voice over myself and had a pretty good time fulfilling one of my childhood dreams of being, “that deep voiced guy on the radio.”

All in all the assignment was really fun and i’m glad we got to do it.

“Now that we have a #ds106 radio up and running creating a 15 to 30 second bumper for the station. What is a bumper? It is a short recording that identifies the radio station with signature music or an expression that makes sure the listeners know what they are tuned into (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bumper_(broadcasting)). So for ds106 it should certainly include “DS106 Radio” and some sort of message about the station with voice over music.-Submitted by: Jim Groom

Leave a Reply

